Hello there.

So here is the transition… 10 years of the corporate roller-coaster at a Fortune 50 telecommunications company have taught me a few things – chief among them that I have no interest in working for a Fortune 50 telco. A business of massive, rapid growth has officially transitioned to a utility company in a technologically saturated market. That does things to organizations. That does things to professional relationships. That does things to the primary tasks for which an employee is held accountable. …fade to black.

So that is not the thing for a “creative-type” to get stuck in, but what is? What is the logical next step for an institutionalized corporate drone in a world where Angry Birds gives way to Draw Something as the top form of smartphone entertainment in the span of 2 years? Where Tesla is beginning the sentence that will spell defeat for the combustion engine in consumer vehicles? Where your diary ends up on Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, eBay, and Amazon?

Where does the money come from? EDD will be sending Unemployment checks for a while – and those replace about half of an income. Step one is using eBay for a virtual yard sale of some old tech stuff. So far, slow and go.

I aim to discover just that… With my trusty cliche MacBook in tow I am ready to explore.  What is the nature of business for the modern consultant? Where is the work coming from? What rags do I read and which do I let fade into obscurity (hint: I think Fast Company and Wired are staying on the list a while). Who has a lead and where will they lead? And is this all TMI?

What follows is my exploration.

Cheers.

L4

